In Rainbows

Radiohead is one of the most iconic alternative bands of all time, yet I hadn’t started listening to them until a few months ago. I went through their discography in chronological order, starting with Pablo Honey and ending (for now) with In Rainbows.

I didn’t care for their first two albums very much, but starting with OK Computer and onward I grew to love this band and their willingness to change their sound and approach with each album they created.

My love culminated with In Rainbows.

In Rainbows is the seventh studio album created by Radiohead and released on 10 October 2007 as a pay-what-you-want download. This album consists of 10 tracks, starting with “15 Step” and ending with “Videotape.” Every one of these songs is incredible and makes for one of the best listening experiences I have heard in quite a while.

The songs in this album feel warm, to put it simply. No matter the lyrical content or instrumentals, this album makes me feel fuzzy and warm. “Nude” and “House of Cards” are the tracks that feel the most relaxing, showcasing strong instrumentals and a memorable beat.

“15 Step” and “Bodysnatchers” have the most high-energy feel to them. These songs put you into a frenzy of enjoyment thanks to pounding percussion and an interesting 5/4 time signature in “15 Step” makes for an excellent opener. I enjoy these songs but they aren’t my favorite.

“Weird Fishes/Arpeggi” is the song I’ve listened to the most on repeat. The lead singer, Thom Yorke, gives a calming vocal performance that teeters on the edge of anxiety during the entire runtime. I cannot explain why I love this song so much, but Yorke’s voice here is so soothing to me.

My favorite track, however, is “Reckoner.” One of Yorke’s best vocal performances lies within pounding cymbals driving the beat and soothing guitar riffs that give off a dreamlike quality. This is the one song in the album that makes sad just to listen to, so it doesn’t have as many listens as “Weird Fishes/Arpeggi.” Nonetheless, this song is my favorite.

In Rainbows is a solid album that doesn’t have a single weak track. It doesn’t overstay its welcome thanks to having only 10 tracks. I highly recommend this song to any fan of alternative music, even if you aren’t a fan of Radiohead in general.


Posted

in

by

Comments

One response to “In Rainbows”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started